1. Home
  2. English
  3. Cricket: Four major tournaments in cricket
Cricket: Four major tournaments in cricket

Cricket: Four major tournaments in cricket


New Delhi, Feb 8: The four major tournaments in cricket are:

  • ICC World Cup: It is an international championship held every four years For the first time, it was played in England in 1975 and West Indies became the first winner. Currently, it is among the most-watched sporting events in the world.
  • ICC Champions Trophy: This is a One-Day International Cricket Tournament. organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It started in 1998 to raise funds for the development of the game in non-Test playing countries. The current champion is Pakistan’s national cricket team.
  • ICC Men’s T-20 World Cup: Also organized by the ICC, it was started in 2007 and hosted by South Africa. India defeated Pakistan and became its first winner. In eight editions so far, England and West Indies have won two titles each.
  • Asia Cup: India defeated Sri Lanka to win the first Asia Cup in 1984. So far, India has won seven titles in the Asia Cup, the most by any country.

Besides these, other cricket tournaments include the Ashes Series, India Premier League (IPL), Champions League, Twenty20, and NatWest Series.


Your email address will not be published.

Join our WhatsApp Channel

And stay informed with the latest news and updates.

Join Now
revoi whats app qr code